Six new research chairs at ÉTS

Created through the ÉTS research chair program

November 27, 2014
Omar Chaallal, Nicole Demarquette, Pierre Dumouchel, Vladimir Brailovski, Vincent Duchaine, Louis-A. Dessaint and Georges Kaddoum.
Three years following the launch of its research chair program, ÉTS is driving the initiative forward by creating six new chairs.

In his inaugural address, Director General Pierre Dumouchel noted that the main objective of the 2011 pilot project was to enable research chairholders to secure external funding. “We can certainly take heart from the fact that four of the first seven ÉTS chairs were quickly recognized and funded by external partners.”

Institutional chairs funded by external partners

In February 2013, one of these four chairs became the Pomerleau Industrial Research Chair in the Integration of Construction Practices and Technologies (Daniel Forgues). This was followed in June 2013 by the three other chairs:

• Canada Research Chair in Smart Sustainable Eco-Cloud (Mohamed Cheriet)
• Canada Research Chair in Engineering Innovations in Spinal Trauma (Yvan Petit)
• Canada Research Chair in Hybrid Optoelectronic Materials and Devices (Sylvain Cloutier)

ÉTS will invest $700,000 over three years in support of its chairs and chairholders. The launch of six new chairs brings the total number of ÉTS research chairs to 26. As a result, ÉTS maintains its favourable position among research-intensive universities and schools with a ratio of one chairholder to 6.2 professors. In addition to its 26 research chairs, ÉTS is home to 37 laboratories and research groups.

At the launch event, the six new chairholders took turns presenting their research programs in a short video:

ÉTS Research Chair on Engineering of Processing, Materials and Structures for Additive Manufacturing
: Vladimir Brailovski
ÉTS Research Chair on Rehabilitation and Strengthening of Civil Infrastructure
: Omar Chaalal
ÉTS Research Chair on Blends and Nanocomposites based on Thermoplastics: Nicole Demarquette
ÉTS Research Chair on Power Systems Security
: Louis-A. Dessaint
ÉTS Research Chair on Interactive Robotics: Vincent Duchaine
ÉTS Research Chair on Physical Layer Security in Wireless Networks: Georges Kaddoum

The ÉTS Research Chair on the Study of Adaptive and Evolutionary Monitoring Systems in Dynamic Environments, led by Professor Robert Sabourin, has been renewed for three years.

To find out more:

Research Chairs

For information
Emmanuelle Berthou
Service des communication - ÉTS
Tél.: 514 396-8427

NouvellesRSS feed