Team

The laboratory boasts a multidisciplinary team consisting of nine research-professors, two professional researchers, 5 postdoctoral fellows, 35 doctorands, more than 35 postgraduate students, and six technical and administrative staff members. All P²SEL members capitalize on multidisciplinarity and pool their studies and industrial experience acquired in a range of sectors (automobile, aeronautics, electronics, etc.).

Professors and research officers

Jean-François Chatelain

Department of Mechanical Engineering, ETS

Office: A-2918

jean-francois.chatelain@etsmtl.ca

Research Areas:

  • Computer aided manufacturing (CAM)
  • High performance machining
  • Metrology
  • Aviation applications
 
Victor Songmene

Department of Mechanical Engineering, ETS

Office: A-1810

victor.songmene@etsmtl.ca

Research Areas:

  • High performance, clean and fast machining
  • Machinability of metallic materials and composite
  • Tool wear
  • Continuous improvement of manufacturing processes and products
  • Hydroforming and formability of materials
 
Souheil-Antoine Tahan

Department of Mechanical Engineering, ETS

Office: A-1904

antoine.tahan@etsmtl.ca

Research Areas:

  • Metrology
  • Geometric tolerancing (GD & T)
  • Process capability
  • Measurement uncertainty
  • Reliability and predictive maintenance
  • Quality
 
Vincent Demers

Department of Mechanical Engineering, ETS

Office: A-2124

vincent.demers@etsmtl.ca

Research Areas:

  • Metal Injection molding (MIM)
  • Materials characterization
  • Optimization of manufacturing processes
  • Heat treatment and brazing
  • Quality
 
Mohammad Jahazi

Department of Mechanical Engineering, ETS

Office: A-2148

mohammad.jahazi@etsmtl.ca

Research Areas:

  • Interactions: mechanical manufacturing processes, material-properties
  • Hot forming processes
  • Materials for transport and energy
  • Characterization and modeling of microstructure
  • Optimization of the mechanical properties phase transformation, recrystallization and precipitation in metal alloys
  • Heat treatments
  • Failure analysis
 
Tan Pham

Department of Mechanical Engineering, ETS

Office: A-2146

tan.pham@etsmtl.ca

Research Areas:

  • Solid mechanics
  • Fluid flow in deformable porous media
  • Heat transfer
  • Shaping processes of materials (composites, metals)
  • Modeling and characterization of materials
  • Finite Element Method
  • Finite element software development
 
Martine Dubé

Department of Mechanical Engineering, ETS

Office: A-1918

martine.dube@etsmtl.ca

Research Areas:

  • Composite materials
  • Welding of thermoplastic composites
  • Repair of Thermoplastic Composites
  • Damage mechanics
  • Fracture mechanics
 
Louis Rivest

Department of Mechanical Engineering, ETS

Office: A-3654

louis.rivest@etsmtl.ca

Research Areas:

  • Computer aided design (CAD)
  • Product Development
  • Management of engineering changes
  • Management of product life cycle
  • Three-dimensional modeling
  • Product data management system (PDM)
 
Martin Viens

Department of Mechanical Engineering, ETS

Office: A-2904

martin.viens@etsmtl.ca

Research Areas:

  • Process instrumentation
  • Evaluation and nondestructive testing
  • Modeling of inspection systems
  • Modeling and control of linear systems
  • Electrical engineering and electrical machines
 

Researcher scientist

Davood Shahriari

Responsible professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: davood.shahriari.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Research interest:
Modeling, Simulation and Optimization of Advanced Manufacturing Processes (FEM,CAD/CAM/CAE).
Thermo-Mechanical Processing of Advanced Alloys for Manufacture of Gas Turbines Components.
Advanced Material Testing and Physical Simulation for Developing Constitutive Material Models at Elevated Temperature.
 

Mihaita Matei

Responsible professor: Louis Rivest
Email: mmatei@tdoglobal.com
Research interest:
"Future Factory" or "Industry 4.0", a vision for Quebec manufacturers - developing a framework for digital maturity of the manufacturing world adapted to the reality of Quebec.

Postdoctoral fellows

Ali Aidibe
Responsible professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: ali.aidibe@gmail.com
Research interest:
Metrologic caractérisation de pièces d'impression 3D
 

Abdelhalim Loucif

Responsible professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: abdelhalim.loucif.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Research interest:
Acrosegregation, solidification, stainless steels, nickel alloys, thermal fatigue, welding oxydation, photo-electrochemistry, semi-conductors.
 

Christophe Danjou

Responsible professor: Louis Rivest
Email: christophe.danjou.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Research interest:
Automatic manufacturing procedure: challenges and implementation in an intermediate manufacturing.
 

John Le Dref

Responsible professor: Jean-François Chatelain
Email: John.le-dref.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Research interest:
Machining, Vibration, Modeling.
 

Omid Majidi

Responsible professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: omid.majidi.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Research interest:
Materials characterization, testing and processing;
Developing and optimization of advanced metal forming technologies using numerical simulation methods and constitutive materials modeling;
Thermomechanical analysis and frictional behavior of materials in non-conventional sheet metal forming processes (e.g., high strain rate superplastic forming and direct-drive digital servo-press).

Doctoral students

Arquimedes Catillo
Responsible Professor: Jean-François Chatelain
Email: arquimedes86@gmail.com
Project:
 
Chunping Zhang
Responsible Professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: chunping.zhang.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Influence of chemical composition and solutionizing conditions on solidification structure in large size ingots using experimentation and modeling
 
D-D. Dang
Responsible Professor: Tan Pham
Email:
Project:
Thermal simulation of large generator and multo-physics coupling
 
Ehsan Mohseni
Responsible Professor: Martin Viens
Email: ehsan.mohseni.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
 
Emmanuel Bigeon
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: emmanuel@bigeon.fr
Project:
Contribution to the optimization of the maintenance operations of hydraulic turbines based on fatigue reliability
 
Emna Benfred
Responsible Professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: emna.ben-fredj.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Analysis of the microstructural evolution and characteristics of different phases in high strength steels during a the quench and temper process.
 
Faramarz Dolatabadi
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: faramarz.dolatabadi.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Effect of surface roughness on the drag according to a probabilistic approac
 
Fateme Agnazadeh
Responsible Professor : Antoine Tahan
Email: f.aghazadeh87@gmail.co
Project:
A contribution to online chatter and tool wear detection and prediction  
 
Fatemeh Masoumi
Responsible Professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: fatemeh.masoumi.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Microstructure and mechanical evolution during linear friction welding of polycrystal to single crystal nickel based superalloys.
 
Fatemeh Mirakhorli
Responsible Professor: Tan Pham and J-L Fihey
Email: Fatemeh.Mirakhorli.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Hybrid laser-arc welding of low carbon martensitic stainless steel applied in turbine
 
Francisco Pantoja Gonzalez
Professeur responsible: Victor Songmene
Email: francisco.gonzalez-pantoja.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
 
Hadi Ghaseminanesa
Responsible Professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: hadi.ghasemi-nanesa.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Influence of cryogenic treatment on microstructure and mechanical properties of high strength tool steels.
 
Hamid Habibzadeh Boukani
Responsible Professor : Antoine Tahan and Martin Viens
Email: hamid.habibzadeh-boukani.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Evaluation of the reliability of various NDT methods for detection and characterization of defects in hydroelectric turbine welded joints
 
Heithem Touazine
Responsible Professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: heithem.touazine.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Effet des paramètres de coupe sur les couches subsurfaciques induites par tournage dur de l'inconel 718 et de l'acier faiblement allié 300M.
 
Kanwal Chadha
Responsible Professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: kanwal.chadha.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Influence of alloy chemistry and deformation conditions on the kinetics of phase transformation.
 
Kaveh Babanezhad
Responsible Professor : Antoine Tahan
Email: kaveh.babanezhad@g-scop.grenoble-inp.fr
Project:
On Fixtureless Geometric Inspection of Flexible Mechanical Parts
 
M. Gendron
Responsible Professor: Tan Pham and H. Champliaud
Email:
Project:
Identification and modeling of noise sources in impact fastening processes
 
Matthieu Bitterlin
Responsible Professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: matthieu.bitterlin.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Deformation and microstructural analysis of steel alloys used for moulds in the automobile industry. 
 
Meftah Elsaraiti
Responsible Professor: Vincent Demers
Email: elsaraitimeftah@gmail.com
Project:
Development and validation of numerical models to simulate the moldability of the LPIM feedstocks
 
Muftah Zorgani
Responsible Professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: muftah.zorgani.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Effect of the chemical composition and thermo-mechanical parameters on the nano-structured low carbon alloyed steel industry. 
 
Mohammad Shnfir
Responsible Professor: Victor Songmene
Email: mohamed.shnfir.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
 
Mohamed Nejib Saidi
Responsible Professor: Victor Songmene
Email: mohamed-nejib.saidi.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
 
Mohsen Barzani-Marani
Responsible Professor: Victor Songmene
Email: mohsen.marani-barzani.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
 
Monzer Daoud
Responsible Professor: Jean-François Chatelain
Email: Monzer.daoud.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Amélioration de la caractérisation de la loi de comportement: Étude numérique de l'usinage d'alliages aéronautiques à grande vitesse.
 
Mounia Berdai
Responsible Professor : Antoine Tahan
Email: mounia.derdai.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Developing a reliability index for hydraulic turbines
 
Nima Bohlooli
Responsible Professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: nima.bohlooli-arkhazloo.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Optimization of furnace during the heat treatment process through CFD modeling and experimental validation on the basis of comprehensive heat transfer analysis.
 
Olivier Blancke
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: olivier.blancke.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Developing a global methodology for the development of intelligent systems prognoses.
 
Philippe Cambron
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: philippe.cambron.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Development of testing procedure to measure small production increase for wind turbine
 
Sadek Ali Abugamba
Responsible Professor: Vincent Demers
Email: sadekabugamga@gmail.com
Project:
Brazing of components fabricated by additive manufacturing
 
Shilan Meimandi
Responsible Professor: Martin Viens
Email: shilan.m21@gmail.com
Project:
 
Sy Quy Nguyen
Responsible Professor: Jean-François Chatelain
Email: Sy-Quy.Nguyen.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
 
Vahid Sabri
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: vahid.sabri@gmail.com
Project:
Inspection géométrique de pièces flexibles sans gabarit de conformation dans le cas des matériaux non isotropes
 
Xavier Rimpault
Responsible Professor: Jean-François Chatelain
Email: xavier.rimpault@polymtl.ca
Project:
Contribution to composite machining monitoring and to laminate composite surface roughness characterization
 
Yassine Bouissa
Responsible Professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: yassine.bouissa.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Minimizing residual stress development and distorsion during the quench and temper process through modeling and experimental validation.
 
Yousef Saadati
Responsible Professor: Jean-François Chatelain
Email: Yousef.Saadati.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Numerical modeling (FEM) of the trimming process of the flax fibre- reinforced composite materials
 
Zakaria Laqibi
Responsible Professor: Vincent Demers
Email: zakaria.laqibi.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Characterization and simulation of fatigue life for titanium brazed joints

Master's students

Abdellatif Bouzid
Responsible Professor: Victor Songmene
Email: abdellatif.bouzid.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
 
Amir Keyvan Edalat Nobarzad
Responsible Professor: Vincent Demers
Email: amir-keyvan.edalat-nobarzad.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Study of link between susceptibility to weld defects and microstructure on High strength low alloy steels
 
Alban Mourier
Responsible Professor: Vincent Demers
Email: alban.mourier.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Optimization of the joining process for copper-copper assemblies
 
Antoine Proteau
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: antoine.proteau.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Development of a model of prevention and management complexity for developing new business processes of a company
 
Aymen Abdelli
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: aymen.abdelli.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
The dimensional and geometric characterization of the mechanical components manufactured by 3D printing (metal) and the identification of correlations between the capability of this process and the intrinsic geometric complexity of the components.
 
Badreddine Abouchalghouma
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: badreddine.abouchalghouma.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Modeling the geometric complexity of the mechanical components
 
Charles Eloquin
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: CharlesEloquin@gmail.com
Project:
Correcting of errors in the position of the AFP KUKA robot cell at Bombardier Aerospace
 
Christophe Travaglini
Responsible Professor: Martin Viens
Email: christophe.travaglini.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
 
Etienne Bastille-Rousseau
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: etienne.bastille-rousseau@tnb.com
Project:
Optimisation du procédé de thermorivetage des attaches « COBRA »
 
Francis Baeni
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: francis.baeni@coriolis-composites.com
Project:
Development of tools for processing 3D inspection data for the composites automatic parts manufacturing
 
Fouad Fareh
Responsible Professor: Vincent Demers
Email: fouad.fareh.1@etsmtl.net
Project:
Characterization of the powder-binder mixtures
 
Guillaume Boivin
Responsible Professor: Martin Viens
Email: guillaume.boivin.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
 
Guillaume Cloutier
Responsible Professor: Louis RIVEST
Email: guillaume.cloutier.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Parameter identification and control methods for automated steel torch cutting process.
 
G.Lemieux
Responsible Professor: Tan Pham
Email:
Project:
Soudage du martelage
 
Hassine Benhaj
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: hassine.benhaj@gmail.com
Project:
Setting up an environment management system and OHS according to ISO14001 and OHSAS18001 (case Thomas & betts Dorval)
 
Ismahel Diagne
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: ismahel.diagne.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Optimization of mechanical stresses in the hydroelectric turbines at startup using indirect measures.
 
Mariem Zoghlami
Responsible Professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: mariem.zoghlami.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Alloying influence and parameter optimization of Friction Stir Welding on the characteristics of the onion rings in aluminium alloys.
 
Mathias Lieutaud
Responsible Professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: Mathias.lieutaud.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Microstructural analysis of the nickel based superalloy AD 730.
 
Mbuyi-ntumba Jean-bosco mbuyintumbaj
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: jean-bosco.mbuyi-ntumba.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
POD curves for inspection
 
Mountadar Lyassami
Responsible Professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: mountadar.lyassami.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Modelling of high strength steels microstructural evolution and mechanical characteristics.
 
Mouiz Boutkedjirt
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: mouiz@hotmail.com
Project:
Analyse of reproducibility of dimensional measurements and geometric at the industrial level
 
Mokhtar Ben Salah
Responsible Professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: mokhtar.ben-salah.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Influence of forging parameters and heat treatments on the grain size of primary austenite and the mechanical characteristics of forged steel.
 
Mukund Patel
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: mukund.patel@cae.com
Project:
The application of advanced welding technology for low volume production in aircraft simulation
 
Marwan Mohamed Elmajdoubi
Responsible Professor: Vincent Demers
Email: marwan-mohamed.elmajdoubi.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Characterization of the powder-binder mixtures
 
Nathan Harris
Responsible Professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: nathan.harris.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Conception of a simulation tool capable of predicting the evolution of voids in extra-large ingots during hot forging.
 
Nouha Karabibene
Responsible Professor: Jean-François Chatelain
Email: Nouha.Karabibene.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Optimisation des procédés de détourage et de perçage des matériaux composites Lin/Époxy
 
Nuwan Fernando
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: fnuwan@cae.com
Project:
Fixtureless assembly techniques for ferrous and nonferrous metallic structure. - Applied to sheet metal and extrudes.  
 
Osama El-Fasi
Responsible Professor: Victor Songmene
Email: osama.elfasi.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
 
Quentin Chatent
Responsible Professor: Antoine Tahan
Email: Quentin.chatenet.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Validation methodology of numerical models used in predicting stresses on hydroelectric turbine blades.
 
Seyyed Hesamodin Talebi
Responsible Professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: seyyed-hesamodin.talebi.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Microstructure Evolution and Optimization of the Quench and Temper Processes for the High Strength Steels.
 
Simon G. Lamarre
Responsible Professor: Vincent Demers
Email: simon.g-lamarre.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Design and fabrication of an injection press for low-pressure metal injection molding.
 
Touhami Belhadj
Responsible Professor: Mohammad Jahazi
Email: touhami.belhadj.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Influence of the process parameters on the distorsion of large thermo-formed aluminium sheets.
 
Victor Boutitie
Responsible Professor: Victor Songmene
Email: victor.boutitie.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
 
Yann Halgand
Responsible Professor: Louis RIVEST
Email: yann.halgand.1@ens.etsmtl.ca
Project:
Typage des modes de préhension d'objets CAO pour l'ergonomie virtuelle.